Skip to main content

The PsychCafe
Share, connect, and learn.
Hello out there. I am a newbie. I have been reading a few threads here and can identify with some of your comments. I have been in therapy for 4-5 months now, and I wish I had found this site sooner. Part of me feels insecure in contributing here, but another part of me is feeling reckless, so I am going to go ahead and do what feels risky to me and post this.

Just recently in my past few therapy sessions I have finally disclosed what I consider to be horrible things in my childhood past. Apparently my therapist has heard much worse in her 20+ years of counseling. That is fine; it isn’t supposed to be a contest, is it? It is still huge to me, and I wanted my pain to be validated. Instead, she minimized it by saying that what I experienced was “not trauma“ because I was not groomed, so I should be able to “get over this”. I wanted permission to grieve, and instead I feel shame for opening up, and that my pain is non-existent or doesn‘t matter.

I have been so furious since then that I have considered terminating. I am trying to talk sense into myself that I should not burn my bridges prematurely because these angry feelings may pass. I have never been able to bring myself to show strong anger while in her presence, but at least this time I did write her a letter expressing my hurt feelings. Since then I have vacillated back and forth whether I should have sent the letter. Maybe I am reading way too much into her comments. Could this be a transference thing where I am subconsciously comparing her to my parents or something? Am I nothing but a drama queen for wanting some empathy?
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Hi Mad Hatter (love the name!)
Welcome to the forums. I think you might be interested in reading the thread below, we had a back and forth discussion on what defines trauma which might be helpful for you right now. It's a little long but I think there's some good info in there.